Taking care of business

18 12 2013

Well where do I start…

Just said to someone I would make a blogpost so looked up my old account, i like everyone else thought would join the commotion of blogging back in 2010.
Low and behold that was my last blog post.
Well a lot has changed in that time for me personally and business wise.

Just post my last My Latitude post, I had an offer to sell my business. This came to fruition and 3 a bit years later, I am now back self employed working for myself.

They save if you have done it once you can do it again.

Now over the past couple of months I have learnt a lot about myself and the industry I have spent my working life in.

Notably if you put into the industry you will get a lot back out of it, having spent a bit of time on various industry bodies, and more recently helping out with getting @Georabble up and going.
The one part I have noticed is how hard it is to get others engaged in this process. We all have what we think are busy lives, going to work, sporting commitments and of course family. But at some stage we should make some time to give back.

Volunteering comes in all forms, whether it be helping with a local charity, industry bodies or groups like the Scouts. We should all find the time to give and the time will give bag more than you think.

With a bit more time on my hands I am giving a hand 2 3 very different and diverse companies.
2 are companies my siblings are working in and on so that in itself is a miracle (my mothers words) but helping out family for which they did for me during ten years of running my own business, I thought it time I should help them.
The other business is a geo startup, where a young guy has a concept and is attempting to get it off the ground. So this covers 2 key things for me, my passion in the spatial community and doing a bit of business mentoring.

Well back to me and my plans for a moment. I have some and in 2014 I will be posting some more.

Stay tuned though for a more recent post about job titles….

 

cheers

@DarkSpatialLord

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

